Dementia Has Become My Middle Name

I have lived, breathed, dealt with, dreamed about, and researched dementia for over 2 1/2 years now.  Makes me feel that Dementia has to be my middle name.  Thirty years ago I knew what dementia was because I had a close friend who had the disease.   Dementia has been around for a long time, even before they gave it the name Dementia.  People think Dementia is a problem related to Alzheimers, but actually Alzheimers is a type of Dementia.  Watching my mother with Dementia in the 1990s was heart wrenching.  My mother never got past the 8th grade in school, but she was one of the smartest people I have ever known.  Why, you say, because she had love, humor, compassion and horse sense.

Webster’s Dictionary says horse sense is – Common Sense.  Many people do not have any common sense.  Some people cannot solve daily problems or deal with any big catastrophic event in their life.  My Mother was the rock that her 4 children leaned on even after we became adults and left home.

When Mom was diagnosed with Dementia I could not believe that anyone as smart as my mother could have Dementia.  There are college professors and all types of very smart people diagnosed with Dementia.  It is sad to watch anyone go through any stage of Dementia and discouraging to see such intelligent people develop the disease.

Putting someone with Dementia in a nursing home and watching the doctors drug them far beyond what is necessary makes me quite angry.  When they cannot control someone the way they wish, they drug the patient and turn them into little zombies.  We would fight with the nursing home over the drugs they gave Mom.  The nursing home physician finally gave my Mother a drug, her family physician told him not to give her, and she died.  We chose not to compound our grief by taking that physician to court.  Why you say, because Mom was in the final stage of Dementia, she was a Christian and she went to be with the Lord.  She was finally free of pain and did not have to suffer anymore.

Mom has been gone 12 years now.  Do I miss her, oh yes I miss her, I miss her every day.

Leave a Reply

