The Illusive Future

People worry, stew (as my mother use to say), and fret about what the future holds in store for them.  I have done that very thing most of my life.

There’s a song that was released in 1956, which Doris Day sang called, “Whatever Will Be Will Be.”  The chorus of that song goes like this:  “Que Sera Sera, whatever will be will be, the future’s not ours to see.  Que Sera Sera, whatever will be will be.”

When a crisis enters your life, time seems to stand still and there is nothing, but the present.  That happened to me in 2013.  I thought my husband would die in the hospital from meningitis.  Everyone around me moved on with their lives and it was almost as if my life ceased to exist, time stood still for 42 days.  People everywhere were doing things that seemed so unimportant to me.  They were wasting their time on silly, frivolous things.  I had done the same thing before my husband became ill.  People were planning their lives far into the future.  I thought to myself – live now, love each other, wake up – the future’s not ours to see.

I try to live in the moment anymore.  Have I planned what I will do tomorrow? Occasionally I have to do just that.  My goals have changed and I try to enjoy today, enjoy NOW.  Hug your loved ones, tell them you love them, because tomorrow may never be.♥

5 thoughts on “The Illusive Future

  1. Yes, God laughs. Man cannot seem to put their life into God’s hands. Lately with my brother’s dementia problem I have learned to let God help me handle the situation.

Leave a Reply

