Winter Came By For a Visit

Winter is not my favorite time of the year.  I admit that the sleet and snow that fell last night looks beautiful.  Snow is beautiful to me, in adulthood, if I remain in the house and look at it through the window.  When I was a child I could not wait to get outside to sled, throw snowballs, and build snow forts with my two brothers.  The trees in our yard thought it was Spring until Winter came by for a visit.  It makes me think of a poem I wrote a few years ago.  God gave us this beautiful world and snow is part of His beautiful world.

download

  • Beauty of red cardinals in glistening new fallen snow.
  • A child’s laugh of glee: clapping hands, shouts.
  • God gave each of us a reason for this glorious glow.
  • Looking through eyes – seeing a world of wonderous marvel.
  • Perceiving loveliness in deer darting in shadowy wood.
  • Hypnotized by directions of falling, swirling leaves,
  • Or sprouting buds within Spring’s season understood.
  • Elegance toward perfection, our Lord’s favor abounds.
2 thoughts on “Winter Came By For a Visit

  1. One thing we can’t ever control nature!
    Lovely poem really imaginative… 🙂
    I don’t go mad for winter, I’ve got snowdrops out in my garden, hope we don’t get more snow!!!

  2. This was our first winter blast of precip. We will have a cold week with the weekend dropping more snow and ice on us. Every tree in the yard is blooming and the daffodils. Yes, I realize it is only February, but one can hope Mother Nature will be kind at least once every 10 years. Ha

Leave a Reply

