Bouncing Back

2015_0217NewMexico00182015_0217NewMexico0019

Life can be just drifting along and all is right with the world.  Then in an instant your world falls apart and everything comes crashing down.  My world did that over two years ago.  I began to care for my brother with dementia and my husband almost died during the same period of time.  The grief and stress were overwhelming for me.  I tried my best to be strong and handle everything.  When I was alone at night it almost became more than I could deal with after a long day at the hospital.

We are growing this large stand of cane in our yard.  When the snow and ice hit this cane it slowly sinks until it lies on the ground.  You can see that from the picture above.  You think, to yourself, this cane will break, it will never recover, it can’t possibly stand tall again. Then the sun appears, the ice and snow begin to melt.  The cane slowly bounces back, to it’s 30+ foot height, even after everything Mother Nature threw its way.

When the snow and ice appeared this week and I watched this cane sink to earth, I thought of life with its ups and downs.

When trials and tribulations weigh us down as the snow did this cane, we have choices. We can choose to slink off, lay in bed, or just give up on life.  Another choice is to, pick yourself up, stand tall and deal with what life throws your way.  We all know depression can weigh us down.  Defeat can get the better of us.  It takes time and a strong will to overcome tragedy in our lives.  With the help of God, family, and friends we can begin to bounce back from tragedy and grief.

6 thoughts on “Bouncing Back

  1. Well said! Life IS change. Good or bad, change comes our way, and we must embrace it and move forward. God can make positive things come out of the worst situations. Romans 8:28 says “We know that all things work together for good to them that love God…”

  2. Reblogged this on Merry Hearts Medicine and commented:
    This post gives an excellent illustration of the ups and downs of life. I can empathize with dizzylizzie72’s point of view, as I am currently “bouncing back from tragedy and grief” that rocked my world a year ago. With the Good Lord’s help, we can overcome anything.

  3. It was a great post, and I wanted to share! 🙂 I read an article where a man said he turns off the comments and likes to any post he reblogs. I decided to do the same. That way all the likes and comments are left on the original writer’s blog! I’m glad it brought new people to your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

