Happier Times Ahead

2014_1119cars8ign0010

For those of you who do not know what this is, it is the seed pod of the castor bean.  The castor bean plant has tropical type leaves and grows 7 to 8 feet tall.  Quite a beautiful plant. Do not be deceived by its beauty, the bean is very poisonous.

When I first started my blog in January of this year, I thought I would just be writing about dementia.  After two years of caring for my brother with dementia I felt I had a lot to tell and perhaps I could help another caregiver.  Most caregivers are in the midst of chaos, and so involved in the dementia process, they just blog to vent their frustrations.  I have given advice to some overwhelmed caregivers who blog.  I can only hope that advice helped them in some way.

Alas, after numerous posts on dementia I seemed to get more depressed with each post. I seemed to be reliving my stress, fatigue, sorrow, and several other emotions during my caregiver journey.  So, I began to post happier posts for my own peace of mind.

I am still dealing with problems even after placing my brother in a nursing home.  The responsibility is still mine to make decisions for the life of another human being.  I love my brother dearly and I miss him so much.  I never wanted to direct my brother’s life.  Who does.

So, I am off to posts on traveling, country living, gardening, cooking, animals, enjoying life, or maybe even telling old jokes:  “Why do ducks have web feet?  To stomp out forest fires. Why do elephants have big feet?  To stomp out burning ducks!” Ha

I cannot be upset or unhappy anymore, because I have a life to live and my brother’s life is disappearing. Dementia is the saddest thing I have dealt with in my entire life.  I lost my mother to dementia, and I am losing all three of my siblings to this dreaded disease. So, let’s all pray that a cure will soon be found.

11 thoughts on “Happier Times Ahead

  1. It must be the hardest thing to have to place your brother in a nursing home. He is very lucky to have you make this impossible decision for his best interests. It looks like it is time to let yourself heal and I like your plans for your blog.
    I had no idea what this plant was. It looks really strange, with the blue leaves and pink fluffy spike balls. 🙂

  2. It is hard to place anyone in a nursing home. I would not have had the responsibility for my brother, but his business partner out West stole his assets and I had to go rescue him. Sad situation.

  3. Its great that you are helping other people, me included. If must be a huge relief to know he’s safe at least, cruel disease. Look forward to your future posts

  4. The trials and tribulations of life can drag a person down. Life slips away from you and you do not realize what is happening. I lost my joy for 3 years, but I am not going to let that happen anymore. Love your blog and your beautiful photographs.

Leave a Reply

