Things People Say About Life

025_NEW

This pond is the view from the North window of my house.  Often I watch the ducks, cranes, and geese land on this pond and enjoy themselves for a while. I spend a lot of my life outdoors, totally enjoying everything nature has to offer.

I ran across a few quotes on what some famous people think about life.  My Mother use to say you get out of life what you put into life.  Mom also told me quite often that Life was Boot Camp for Heaven.  Life does get rough at times, like boot camp.

“The first half of our life is ruined by our parents and the second half by our children.” Clarence Darrow, lawyer and author 1857-1938   (Thought this was funny.)

“May you live all the days of your life.”  Jonathan Swift, satire writer (England) 1667-1745  I think what he meant by this is that often we are just existing, letting time get away from us, and not enjoying the days we live on this earth.

“No man is a failure who is enjoying life.” William Feather, publisher & author 1889-1981

“As soon as a man acquires fairly good sense (in life), it is said that he is an old fogy.”  Ed Howe, journalist 1803-1937

“To make headway (in life), improve your head.”  B.C. Forbes, journalist-Forbes Magazine & author 1880-1954

When you’re sitting there bored, something I often hear from people, get up and do something about the boredom.  Live life to the fullest, fast and furiously, even if occasionally you have to slow down for the speed bumps.

6 thoughts on “Things People Say About Life

  1. Brillant so true, strange because i was only conteplating this week what lifes really all about. Your so lucky to live in a such a beautiful place. Love the quote by Swift.

  2. What a great post! Well said!

    My one question is “Bored?” I think I’ve heard of this word…Yes, I believe I’ve heard my daughter say that word in the past. I wish I could–just occasionally–have time to fit this word into my vocabulary! ha ha

  3. Yes, as my daughter was growing up she used that word bored so often I simply had to plug my ears. Ha Ha I guess being bored now and then would be ok, if you wanted to nap.

Leave a Reply

