Erasing Stress

I sit and think about the stress in my life.  Then I realize how hectic, fast paced, and stressful life is in 2015.  Our grandparents sat, out in the yard, under a shade tree for hours socializing with family and friends.  They were much smarter than present generations.

IMG_0712

I took this picture of a stream with its continuous moving procession of water.  I should have sat on a log or rock and watched this stream for a while.  If I had spent 10 minutes in that beautiful environment I know it would have calmed my soul.  We can learn a lesson from nature if we sit quietly, give vigilant attention and observe God’s world.

images

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . picture by – clearwallpapers.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . When the frisky, busy squirrel in nature becomes exhausted, he stretches out and basks in the sunshine.  If you sit on the porch, and watch your dog or cat sleeping in the sunshine or shade, it relaxes you.  The animals (other than man) take time to rest several times a day.

Webster’s Dictionary defines stress as: A physical, chemical, or emotional factor that causes bodily or mental tension and may be a factor in disease causation.

My husband and I were in the midst of a road rage incident several months ago. A very stressful, frightening experience.  This man rammed our truck from behind at a red light. When my husband got out to confront him, he wanted to fight with my husband in the intersection.  My husband got back in our truck to avoid violence.  The man followed us right to the police station, got out and followed my husband inside.  This man had just left court where he was charged with drug possession and use.  He was simply taking his frustration out on others.

images (2)

The solution is to end the violence, anger, and all other spiteful acts that are prevalent in our society.  Everyone needs to find that quiet place to be alone and relax for a few minutes once or twice a day.  If we find that private, relaxing place we can cast off nervous tension and anxiety.  I try to do these things to erase stress.  If I relieve the stress perhaps I can be more tolerant of others, more caring and understanding.  Love and concern for our fellowman is the only way to gain happiness, peace, and joy in life.

10 thoughts on “Erasing Stress

  1. Brilliant post, so very true and taking that time out can make such a difference to our wellbeing.
    What a terrifying experience with the driver you poor things…

  2. Road rage comes at you without warning. I hope I am never in a situation like that again. This raged man did not know what he was doing, he was so doped up and should not have been driving.

  3. I am sorry, but I have to decline your kind offer to participate in the Liebster Award. At this time I am just extremely busy. Thank you for nominating me.

Leave a Reply

