Be Kind – Be Nice

download (13)

My Mother instilled this old saying in my brain all through my childhood:  “If you can’t say nothin nice, don’t say nothin at all.”

As an adult when I’m in a situation with others and I start to say the wrong thing, I think of Mom and this old saying.  Then, I shut my mouth and I don’t say a thing.

There have been many silly, unkind, irritating people who have aggravated me in my life. When this type person talks to me and seems to be a moron, I shut my mouth. Then I tell myself to consider the source and let all their ignorant actions and words roll off my back. I keep my mouth shut.

Oh, don’t get me wrong, I can stand up for myself.  I have strong opinions and a very big mouth.  But, if the issue is stupid, leads to nothing, and harms no one, I shut my mouth.

There is a belief from at least 200 years ago – If you don’t have common horse sense to guide you then you are not very smart!  You, see horses are smarter than most of us know.  Education does not make a person smart.  What makes a person smart is being able to use common horse sense to solve problems in a calm, rational way.  Work toward a peaceful outcome.  There is too much unkindness and rage in this world today.

So be kind, be nice and use your brain correctly.  Use common horse sense.  When something unkind, or unnecessary tries to come out of your mouth, close your lips.

download (15)

5 thoughts on “Be Kind – Be Nice

  1. Reblogged this on Skin Deep ~ Mandy Moran and commented:
    Absolutely love this post, we should all remember this in our everyday life’s, peace would become you far easier if we did…
    Wise words from a talented blogger. Who has become a great friend.
    Originally posted on ‘helping others’

Leave a Reply

