Reflecting on Life

Do you find as you get older that you begin to reflect on your life?  Does life seem to be slipping away too quickly?  Does it seem like you were just 18 years old yesterday and ready to leave your parents house? The next thing you know you are 40, then 50 and on up the age ladder you wander. As this life passes quickly do you reflect on what you have done, or how happy you have been?  Do you wonder when you will be gone and become only a memory in someone’s mind?  Most of us with a little age under our belts do think about the end of our life.

download (21)

download

 

 

 

 

At  times I look through picture albums (yes, some of us still have those) and review the life I have lived to this point.  I think, wow, I have had a busy life, but where has it gone. You wonder how many days or years you have left on this earth.  You question whether you have spent your life doing what was expected of you, if you helped others enough. You think did I love enough, was I happy, was I kind, was I the person I should have been.

images (37)  images (38)

Memories of loved ones that I have lost flood my mind.  Then I think of those who are still here, those I love, those I can still help get through the tragic times, the happy times.download (19)

images (32)

Take the years God gives you on this earth and live them in the best possible way.  Never take life for granted. Life is fragile.  Live today to the fullest, because as horrible as it may be to think about it, we may not have tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Reflecting on Life

  1. So very true and very much my sentiment at the moment. I made a photograph album of my sons life so far for him for his 18th yesterday. Memoires are wonderful but painful when family members like ours with dementia are so confused. Life’s sweet we must make the best of every moment I agree. Great post.

  2. Debra says:

    It is sometimes painful but yes as time goes by I have become reflective of the past. When I was young I thought I knew it all but I’ve come to realize just how little I really did know. One of those things I have come to realize is the importance of being in the moment. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

