When The Sun Goes Down

IMG_0803

I took this picture of the sunset last night.  The song, “Mississippi Mud,” ran through my mind.  The first verse goes – “When the sun goes down the tide goes out.  The people gather round and they all begin to shout,  Hey, hey Uncle Dud it’s a treat to beat your feet on the Mississippi Mud.”  That song has been sung over the years by famous people like Dinah Shore, Dean Martin, and Ray Charles just to mention a few.  I have been to the Gulf Coast of Mississippi and stuck my feet in that Mississippi Mud.

I suppose I was trying to cheer myself up looking at this beautiful sunset and thinking of a happier time.  DHS is giving me so much trouble with renewing my brother’s long-term-care Medicaid to pay for nursing home care that I have been stressed past my limit of endurance.  These last 3 years of dealing with my brother’s problems have taken a toll on my health.  Sometimes it seems as if everything good I have tried to achieve in my life has taken a hard uphill battle.  I really think future generations are going to have a much harder time dealing with life’s challenges.  That fills my mind with extremely sad thoughts.

Maybe someday I can go back to Mississippi and stick my feet in that nice soothing Mississippi Mud again. Ah, that is a nice thought!  I wonder if a facial mud pack with Mississippi Mud helps wrinkles?  Hmmmmmm

2 thoughts on “When The Sun Goes Down

Leave a Reply

