Remembering

IMG_4215

I was out running around in the yard, in my pajamas,  with my camera before dawn.  Could not resist trying to catch the Moon and this Star in the same shot.

Today is bitter sweet for me, I am thinking of my brother J.R. who passed away one month ago today.  I think of him each day, my brain does not want to accept the fact that he is gone.  I have been looking at photos of us as children, sledding in the snow in Washington, Oregon, and Idaho.  Our favorite place was always the little town of Halfway, Oregon and beautiful Hell’s Canyon on the Oregon, Idaho border.

Today is my birthday and I remember years ago when J.R. lived in Arizona. He called a flower shop here in Arkansas and had a man dressed in a gorilla suit, come to my door with flowers and baloons, to give me a hug and sing Happy Birthday to me.  My husband and daughter knew this was going to happen and they took pictures and laughed at my surprise.  I said, “Only that crazy J.R. would do something like this.”

It is doubly hard around the holidays to lose someone you love.  I have friends and fellow bloggers who have lost loved ones recently and each is suffering in their own way.   May God bless you at this sorrowful time.

15 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. Such a great post!!! Even being an unhappy one.You put the right words on it, you put your heart and your emotions!!! But i am sure your brother is now in a better place than we are. Even knowing how difficult it is for you to pass by it now.

  2. Wishing you a very Happy Birthday! Even if your memories are bitter sweet today, after the recent loss of your brother JR, in time, they will get brighter. Wishing you peace 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    The holidays are difficult for so many people. I am glad to know that you have happy memories of your brother. Sounds like he was a great guy. And very Happy Birthday to you today 🙂

  4. Wishing you a Happy Birthday! I know this feels so hard for you, with all the memories and everything. I admire you for being able to write about it, and your feelings around it. Sending warm hugs your way.

  5. Grief is so hard. We can think we are making progress, and then its waves envelop us again. It’s all so final 😦

    I have been having trouble shopping at stores, since I was always trying to pick up something for mom that she might like or might help her, and there’s nothing I can pick up for her now.

    That’s a lovely memory of J.R. We’ll just have to hang on to those poitive feelings they leave us with, as we try not to remember the harder times.

  6. I was watching a Youtube rememberance video that my daughter and I made in Sept. about my Mom who died with dementia 12 years ago. Still miss her so much. I am so sorry for your loss, especially during these holiday times. Really is hard to lose someone, have memories, but they don’t replace the one lost. God bless you and hugs and love to you.

Leave a Reply

