Turn The Other Cheek

IMG_5509

When someone does you wrong – Do you want to get even?  Or . . . Do you turn the other cheek?  I use to have a hard time turning the other cheek, but as I age I am more tolerant of others.

Matthew 5:39 KJV  But, I say unto you, That ye resist not evil: but whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also.

Matthew 5:43-44 Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy.  But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;

When my brother’s female business partner used my brother’s dementia against him and stole all his assets . . . I had to learn to turn the other cheek.  This woman did not ask my brother or me to forgive her.  God ask me to forgive her.  I pray that she will repent, so God can forgive her and save her soul.

It actually helps the person who does not have hate in their mind or soul.  Forgiveness makes you a better person.  It makes you pleasing to God.

I will never recover any of my brother’s earthly goods, but that does not matter.  What matters is posessing love, compassion and forgiveness for your fellow man. It certainly would make this world a better place to live.

Luke 6:31  And as ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise.

Love your enemies, it will give you peace of mind.  God is kind to everyone, including the unthankful and the evil. If God is kind to the evil, I guess I can be kind also.  Sometimes by being kind, you can make your enemy your friend.

5 thoughts on “Turn The Other Cheek

  1. I have learned (in all my years – LOL) that you do not (and usually should not) do anything. What goes around, really does come around. I am not a vengeful person, but there have been times in my youth that I was that way. I wanted to see them hurt as much as they hurt me. Then one day I woke up and realized – the only person I was hurting was myself! So now I write it all down in a journal and let it go. If (heaven forbid) I ever need to remember what happened, I have it in writing. so no more carrying the bad things around.

  2. Very good thing to do – write it down. I have documented the entire journey through my brother’s dementia and what his business partner did to him. I have it on record, but I have let the pain go.

Leave a Reply

