Intrusive or Obtrusive

images (53)

Intrusive – Involving yourself in the affairs of others in an objectionable manner.  Which causes an unpleasant life for the person receiving the attention from another.  Busybody Obtrusive – Interfering without regard for person or property.  Focuses on forcing yourself and your ideas on another whether they wish it or not.  Trying to totally rule another person’s life.

I have had a couple of women in my life, that became my friends, but they were Intrusive and Obtrusive.  They overwhelmed me, they invaded my life and tried to tell me how to live my life.  I put up with them for years and I still do not know why.

Here is a small example of total insanity on the part of these women:

Woman #1 – I had gone shopping with my husband for 2 hours.  When I arrived home I found this lady had left 25 messages on my telephone answering machine.  She was shouting for me to pick up the phone, she knew I was home.  She was mad that I was ignoring her.  The last few messages I am unable to repeat.  This relationship ended for me at that moment.   She was rabid with anger when I told her I would not see her again.

Woman #2 – I was on a bowling league.  This woman would come to the bowling alley and try to get me to quit the league.  One day our team won and we went for a victory lunch.  This woman wanted me to come to her house after the game to plant rose bushes for her.  When I did arrived she was irate and said I was hours late.  I tried to explain the lunch.  Oh my, was that a mistake.  I got both ears full of things I did not wish to hear.  This was the final straw and I ended the relationship. She became a mad woman with her anger.

The only way to end a relationship with this type of person, is immediately.  You may receive their wrath full force, but just let the words roll off your back.

I have had several intrusive ladies try to be friends with me after the two above.  I nipped those relationships in the bud before they started.  Life is too short to be stressed and miserable.  This type of relationships made me want to move out-of-state or just let a bus run over me and put me out of my misery. lol

So here are a couple of quotes about busybodies:

“If you stop focusing on other people’s lives, you will have more time to fix your own life.”  Sonya Parker

“Oh I’m sorry, I didn’t realize that you’re an expert on my life and how I should live it.  Please continue while I take notes.” your e cards

 

12 thoughts on “Intrusive or Obtrusive

  1. Very well said! And I agree, life is too short and especially to waste time and energy on negative and angry people, I certainly don’t want anyone poking their nose into my garden with that attitude. Agree fully with you.

  2. Well Done to you for standing your ground and getting these awful women out of your life. The word I use for these types is Toxic.
    At least, having suffered them, we are better able to spot them in the future, and so avoid all the stress.
    I love your last quote 🙂

  3. 1 Peter 4:15 – “But let none of you suffer as a murderer, or [as] a thief, or [as] an evildoer, or as a busybody in other men’s matters.”

    There’s a definite difference between trying to lovingly encourage a friend to grow as a person and trying to domineer over a friend. Some relationships are just unhealthy and need to be ended.

    The only good thing I can think of about these kinds of “friends” is that they help us treasure our good relationships (true friends).

  4. OK – I think they both should volunteer to read to children (under the age of 5) at their local library…1) they will learn patience (maybe hee hee) 2) Understand the concept of “get your own life, you cant have mine” – LOL really!?? The worst I had was a younger gal that hung out with me when I was single (no kids) and she always sat back and expected me to pay for everything – like I was supposed to be her date?? Sorry – way wrong…then I snapped and told her I didn’t want to be her friend anymore and why – she said she didn’t know she was doing that?? Said that all her friends – male and female just “took care of her”??? WHAAATT?? LOLOLOL guess some people just get to live their life with the butterflies! 🙂

  5. Oh my, some people are so obnoxious. A lot of people do think they are to be taken care of by all the rest of us. These 2 ladies could not read to children, they would scare the children. lol My problem is trying not to hurt someone’s feelings. Well, I am over that one. Ha Thanks for you comments.

Leave a Reply

