Funny How Time Slips Away

images (61)

When you reach your 40s and your 50s you begin to think about time slipping away.  You realize how fast life can pass you by.  Many of us waste more of our time than the time we spend truly living our lives.

My Mother use to play her old records and one of the songs I often heard was, “Funny How Time Slips Away,” sung by the country singer Ray Price.  This song has been recorded by many great artists that are gone now, Elvis Presley, George Jones just to name a few.

There is another song, “Yesterday When I Was Young” sung by Roy Clark.  My Mother also use to listen to this song.  A couple of lines from that song go like this:” Yesterday when I was young. The taste of life was sweet as rain upon my tongue.  I ran so fast that time and youth at last ran out.”

Have you ever stood before a mirror, looked at your image, and relized that young person you once were has become much older?  Your first thoughts are, “How did I get so old, where did the years go, my life is disappearing fast.”

download (16)

But, then I realize I know many Senior Citizens that do not let age slow them down.  They are out there living their lives, as energetic as those much younger than them.  They have either found that “Fountain of Youth,” or they have learned to live their lives to the fullest.  So, I think I will just follow their example.

download

 

 

15 thoughts on “Funny How Time Slips Away

  1. Yes, time seems to fly…and best thing is to not focus too much on your age, as long as your healthy and do things you enjoy…live a little 🙂

  2. The images in here propelled your post well, Liz. I’m glad to read that through your contemplation, you have arrived at a positive outcome. Is there any point to dwelling on the time now behind us rather instead of looking forward to the unfolding future before us?

  3. I do suppose that by doing our best every day is a good try on not paying much attention on time passing by us so fast. But even though I’ll run away from mirrors.

Leave a Reply

