The Impossible Dream?

002

I have lived in Arizona several times in my life.  The last time I spent 18 years there with my husband.  Love Arizona, love the desert, taking visitors to the Grand Canyon, doing winter sports in Flagstaff.  Have been in every area of Arizona.  Sat down one day with my pen as I thought of Arizona and whipped out this ink doodle in a few minutes (using mostly the letter X).  I love the cactus that grow in Arizona: Saguaro, Century Plant, Barrel Cactus, Prickley Pear, Ocotillo to name a few.  Am going back for a visit someday, I miss the Western U.S.  When you marry an Arkie, you always return to Arkansas to live. lol

Makes me think of that song – “The Impossible Dream,” sung years ago by Andy Williams. I am going to try to make this dream possible.  I use to visit Arizona twice a year to see my parents, but they are both gone now.  Have many friends there that I keep in contact with, need to go see them face to face.

 

 

19 thoughts on “The Impossible Dream?

  1. Keep dreaming, you’ll get there. Tell the Arkansas man you need to go west for a spell! I head east whenever I can! Love the sketch!

  2. Life is too short, Lizzie… we all need to do the things we want to because we just don’t know what is waiting for us in the next five minutes, let alone twelve months down the road. As the Rush lyric goes: “Learning that we’re only immortal for a limited time…”

  3. True. Just dealing with a some what ill husband who almost died of menigitis 3 years ago. Gotta get this Arkie boy back in shape. We definitely do not know what is waiting for us down the road. Thanks for your comments.

  4. Love love love the xxx art!! I can’t wait to get out on the road and see all the beautiful things this continent has to see. I’ve had relatives in Phoenix (long past now also) and have travelled there for work. I love the colors and the ‘xxx-like’ scenery. Let’s meet out there… say about 5 years from now? Ha ha!
    I’ll surely be in Arky before Arizona. It’s closer!

  5. Grew up in the West and lived in California, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Utah – all these states have beautiful things to see. My least favorite state out there is Nevada – miles of nothing but sand. Meet in 5 years – better put that on my schedule. lol

  6. What a wonderful sketch! Here’s hoping you get to visit Arizona as and when. Love Flagstaff, been through and around there a number of times, and enjoyed the people and place.

  7. Lived in Flagstaff twice. Graduated from high school there. My daughter was born there. My parents lived in central Arizona for 30 years. Love Oak Creek Canyon out of Flagstaff. Sedona is a beautiful place too.

Leave a Reply

