L.R. Air Base

The Little Rock Air Force Base is the primary home of the C-130 Hercules training base for the Department of Defense.  This air base contains the largest C-130 Herules transport fleet in the world.  They train pilots, navigators, flight engineers, and loadmasters from all branches of the U.S. military airlift and aerial delivery.  These planes clock 15,600 yearly hours of flight time to train the personnel who fly and mange these C-103E, C-103H, and C-130J aircraft.  Little Rock Air For Base is home to the 19th Airlift Wing.

You can hear and feel the Air Force C-130s in Arkansas long before you see them appear in the sky overhead.  On their return run toward the air base after practice drops of supplies and materials, they pass right over our house or very near.  I have often photographed these huge aircraft.  Here are some of the pictures I have captured in my camera lens.

This is a picture of the main gate going into Little Rock Air Force Base. You can see the cars and trucks lined up behind this C-130 as they drive through the gate.

download (26)

IMG_6997

IMG_6723

IMG_6988

 

Blue skies

 

 

16 thoughts on “L.R. Air Base

  1. I watch these planes fly over my house and yard, not far above tree top level most of the time. I look at those huge things and wonder how they stay in the air. Amazing.

  2. I stood in the yard 2 days ago and watched one fly over my head, just above the tree tops. It amazes me how those monster stay in the air. Imagine them full of cargo and flying.

  3. My dad was in the AF and was a mechanic for United. He passed on his passion for planes to me. He used to quiz us kids, pointing into the sky “what’s that kids? “that’s a Boeing 747 dad!”
    Thanks for the pix!

  4. My husband and I were both in the Air Force when we first married. Get to watch these great planes fly over my yard and my head a lot. Amazes me how they stay in the air, they are huge. Nice to hear your dad was in the AF and loved planes.

Leave a Reply

