Visiting Your Parents

IMG_5588IMG_7998

LOVE YOUR PARENTS.  We are so busy growing up, we often forget they are also growing old.  (your daily love emotions on 16 quotes.com)

I remember when my husband and I left Arizona and moved back to Arkansas –  we did not drive the 20 miles to his parents house to visit often enough.  I loved my husband’s parents like they were my own. Jobs, raising kids, and other activities seemed to consume our time.  Both my husband and I regret to this day that we did not spend more time with his parents.  Suddenly, my husband’s parents were old, they became sick, and they left this world.  You think back and you wonder why you did not give 2 older, lonely people more of your time. They often told us when we did go for a visit that we did not stop by enough. What is life about, if not taking the time to spend quality time with your parents before they leave this earth. I am not trying to shame anyone into visiting their parents.  I think we all need to take stock of our lives and allot time for the things that truly matter. My parents are also gone and I know I miss them beyond words, and I miss my husband’s parents equally.  Stop by for 5 minutes, give Mom a kiss and a hug.  You can even hug your old Dad too.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Visiting Your Parents

  1. Very true — every word. My parents moved closer to me several years ago, but yet I still do not get to see them as often as I’d wish. I go through day after day thinking of them and being frustrated that things always seem to get in the way and keep me from visiting them.

    Some days I work all day, planning to get certain things done so I can go visit my parents in the afternoon or evening. Then more things pop up and steal my time, it seems, no matter what I do. So, it may sound silly, but I end up calling to talk about nothing, just so I can hear their voices.

    I hear stories about how people in other countries are amazed at the fast-paced lives Americans lead. I think they are the ones who have things right. There is wisdom to a simpler, slower, relationship-based lifestyle. I need to try harder to achieve that in my life. I was doing better on visiting my parents for a while last year, but it seems the “cares of life” have enveloped me again and pushed aside my priorities. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Reblogged this on Merry Hearts Medicine and commented:
    I struggle with this one myself.

    The business of life has overwhelmed me. I spend day after day frustrated that things always seem to get in the way of me visiting my parents and contacting my friends. It’s time for me to reevaluate and make my actions line up better with my priorities.
    When you’re trying to juggle all the parts of life, it’s okay to let some of the less-important parts drop to the floor. I try to do my best on keeping God and relationships first in my life, but I think I am failing in certain respects.
    Life flies so quickly…put your loved-ones first. Someday I will be the lonely parent, and what am I teaching my daughter?

  3. Thanks for your comments. I often regret not being able to see my parents or my in-laws as often as I should have. My Mom use to say,”We only go through life once, make the best of it.” She was a very kind, wise lady.

  4. We all have to strive everyday to do the important things first. When I was younger, I failed to put many important things first. I was thinking of the 2 elderly men from our church who died recently. One of them had his granddaugher at church with him, his last Sunday there. I am glad they had time together before he passed away.

Leave a Reply

