Modesty and Decency

Modesty and Decency is observing the proprieties of: dress, speech, and behavior.  I like this quote by Susan Gale – “Common sense, common courtesy and common decency really do have a lot in common.  They all disappeared around the same time.”

I have come in contact with a lot of people lately who are rude, crude, and immodest. Makes me think of this scripture in the Bible.  I Corinthians 14:40 – “Let all things be done decently (properly) and in order.”

I ran across this old picture of two little girls on the beach, back in the early 1900s. This shows how modestly people dressed their children a century ago.  This might not be such a bad way to dress today, it would at least keep children from getting so badly sunburned.

IMG_8779

I totally agree with the following quotes:  “Just because our culture normalizes what’s wrong, doesn’t make it right.”  – – –  “Loquacity (being very talkative) storms the ear, but modesty takes the heart.” Robert South

I had a lady send me a text the other day.  It was a vulgar joke.  This lady professes to be raised with morals.  I text these words back to her. “That is nasty.”  She text back: “My friend and I liked this joke, we are just two old biddies.”  I did not text back, this offended me very much, I detest vulgar jokes.  I guess, I would classify this as disrespect for others, because she knows I attend church regularly.

17 thoughts on “Modesty and Decency

  1. It’s so difficult to maintain these values in a world where we are bombarded by indiscretions from every corner. That’s also one reason why I set limits on my kids’ TV time because there’s just a lot of indecency and lack of common sense in there. God forbid my kids should ever get hooked on reality shows.

  2. I agree with you 100%! We need to return to good morals, decency in our deportment, and just having common courtesy for each other. I think it’s called “loving one another”!

  3. My own sister once called me a prude, but I agree whole-heartedly with your post. If people maintained those first three considerations, how much better the world would be.

  4. Aditi says:

    I have never liked those vulgar jokes either (or swearing). People were more innocent around 1900.

Leave a Reply

