We Are All Equal

IMG_9843

God is no respecter of persons as the apostle Peter said in Acts 10:34.

There are a lot of people, who think they are superior to the rest of the human race.  I suppose it is due to their ignorance, unkind spirit, or their swelled heads.

My niece – the Superior One – chose not to let my brother James and I know of our sister Jean’s journey through dementia into death.  How do I know my sister died? Through constant searching every other month on the internet.  Finally yesterday I discovered Jean’s obituary.  Jean passed away March 22, 2016 and my niece chose not to let her mother’s siblings know..

My brother James is in the early stages of dementia and lives in the same town as my sister.  He wanted to go visit his sister, but our niece denied him the privilege of saying goodbye to Jean.  She would not allow James to have any contact with Jean.

Why was my niece so cruel?  My sister did not raise her to be that way.  When will we learn as human beings that kindness and concern for others is what life is all about. I have tried since my brother J.R.’s death, due to dementia, to strive for a happier outlook on life. My years as J.R.’s caregiver were very hard for me emotionally. Just when you begin to achieve a happier outlook on life someone throws you a curve ball that knocks you for a loop!

We are all in this life together and we need to make this world a better place.  God will bless the kind and compassionate people on this earth. ♥

19 thoughts on “We Are All Equal

  1. I was so sad to read this today, that must really feel so hard for you, I can only imagine. It is hard to understand how and why some people behave the way they do at times, being so completely selfish and insensitive. Sometimes you just want to shake those people a bit, but some say that karma will eventually catch up with them.
    You do have somebody that cares here at my end and I am sending you a big hug from across the pond.
    Take very good care of yourself.

  2. Thanks Eva for that wonderful hug. 🙂 We each have our problems in life – we do not need others adding any extra sorrow or stress. Insensitive is the word.

  3. That was incredibly hard and unkind of your niece, and surely not her decision to make! Siblings should be allowed to say goodbye.
    And I am very sorry for your loss and how you had to find out about it.
    I hope you can find some peace.

  4. I also got very sad by reading this post my friend! I did not imagine it could happens nowadays. And i also can imagine how sad and hard it may be for you to hang it. But I am sure you are strong enough and will pass by it as better as you can. I also am very sad for your loss. Take care yourself my friend and try to have some joy and peace.

  5. I am so sorry for your loss. Sometimes it’s hard to understand where people are coming from and why they act they way they do. It seems to me that your niece is in need of big time forgiveness. She knows not what she does. Sending you thoughts and prayers. Love and hugs.

  6. That niece of yours needs a good paddling! Especially when they only have thier own interests in mind and the person they are caring for isn’t capable of resisting. Karma will hopefully take care of her!

  7. She is a stinker – her brother and sister will have nothing to do with her. She seems to think she is better than them also. Hope Karma does take care of her. Ha

  8. Thanks for the thoughts, prayers, love, and hugs. My Mother always told me – “Never think you are better than anyone else, because you are not.” Wise woman.

  9. I’m so sorry. What a bitter person your niece must be to have inflicted so much misery on others of her own flesh and blood. But even in the sadness of your post I see your own outlook that is so uplifting, even in sorrow. Your outlook is always so positive and inspiring, Praying prayers for peace and comfort to you.

  10. Oh that is just so sad. Sending you a tight hug Lizzie. But maybe your niece has her reasons for choosing not to tell you or your brother. I just pray that she finds enlightenment. Hugs.

  11. This makes me so sad! I am sorry for the loss to your family and also for the way you found out. The fact that you searched and never gave up shows your love and dedication and I know even far away loved ones can sense that. Find peace in that my dear friend!!

  12. Liz, I have been poor at following up on such things. So sorry for the turmoil and sadness within the family. You haven’t posted in some time. I hope you are alright. Your loving spirit is very much missed!

Leave a Reply

