Smile – Keep On Trying

IMG_3845

This is a beautiful park in Central Arkansas near the new nursing home where I am placing my brother J.R.  I signed papers for an hour yesterday to have him placed in a dementia unit.  There is such sadness and so many tears, these last 3 years, trying to do what is best for a person I have loved for so long.  A person who does not know me.

I thought of the song “Smile” which has been sang by so many great people over the years: Richie Rosato, Judy Garland, Nat King Cole, Josh Groban.  Following are the words of the song “Smile,” which greatly touch my heart.

SMILE

Smile though your heart is aching.  Smile even though it’s breaking.  When there are clouds in the sky you’ll get by.

If you smile through your fear and sorrow.  Smile and maybe tomorrow you’ll see the sun come shining through.  For you.

Light up your face with gladness.  Hide every trace of sadness.  Although a tear may be ever so near.

That’s the time you must keep on trying.  Smile, what’s the use of crying.  You’ll find that life is worthwhile.  If you just SMILE.

IMG_3848

When you deal with dementia there are so many times you feel guilty when you say to yourself, “I don’t want to do this anymore, I cannot handle this anymore.”   But, you keep on trying and smile though your heart is breaking!

9 thoughts on “Smile – Keep On Trying

  1. There is no-one else to do what has to be done for your brother. It is your love that will keep him safe and comfortable in the future.
    I also love the song Smile, but it must be so hard for you to do so.
    Love the peaceful river in the park 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comments. That nice river is the White River. If I were not as old as I am, older than my brother and having to do all this with a month of vertigo in my head, I might make it better. My brother has 3 children that will not help or even see their father- (not his fault either).

  3. That is awful that his children will not help. I am so sorry 😦
    And I sympathise with the vertigo. I’ve had it on several occasions – horrid.

  4. I think of you often Liz, such a terrible disease Alzheimer’s. I send love to you, if I could perform magic I’d wipe this disease from the planet and then we could have our loved ones back…..
    Let’s keep smiling……

  5. You are so nice and caring. May the Almighty who has all the powers put many smiles on your lips and as often as possible. Be assured of our prayers, our love and our moral support as you go through these difficult moments..

Leave a comment